Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942
2016 ESPY Award Winners announced – SportsUntapped.com
Today is
Added July 19th, 2016 by Ian

2016 ESPY Award Winners announced
Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942

The annual ESPY Awards were handed out on the 13th of July, 2016 at Los Angeles’ Microsoft Theater with professional wrestler John Cena acting as the host. There were a total of eight honourary and 31 competitive awards handed out on the night. The awards show was launched in 1993 with ESPY standing for Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly. The ceremony recognizes team and individual athletic achievements and performances during the previous 12 months. The ESPYs were designed to be similar to the Emmy, Grammy, Tony, and Academy Awards. The winners are voted on by a collection of fans, broadcasters, sportswriters, and sports executives etc.

NBA champions the Cleveland Cavaliers picked up a few awards as LeBron James was named as the best NBA player and the best male athlete and took home the award for the year’s best championship performance. James helped the Cavaliers become the first ever NBA team to rally from a 3-1 deficit in a championship series when they stormed back to beat the Golden State Warriors in seven games. James became NBA’s first player to lead a league full playoff series in points, assists, rebounds, blocks, and steals. His performance won him the NBA’s MVP for the final series. The Cavaliers also won the ESPY for the best team and for the best moment as Cleveland won its first major sports crown in 52 years.

Stephen Curry, the NBA’s MVP won the ESPY for the best record-breaking performance as he set a new mark for the most made three-pointers during a season with his Golden State team setting a new NBA-record with 73 wins during the regular season. Former players were honoured too as NFL star Peyton Manning, NBA legend Kobe Bryant and American women’s soccer player Abby Wambach were all given the Icon Award after retiring this year. Eric Berry, a defensive back with the NFL’s Kansas City Chiefs won the comeback player of the year award after returning to the league following his cancer battle. Berry had two interceptions this season, was third on his team in tackles and played in the Pro Bowl for the fourth time.

Center Breanna Stewart, currently of the Seattle Storm WNBA basketball team, was named the best female athlete as she led her NCAA club the UConn Huskies to a fourth consecutive title. She also earned her fourth straight Most Outstanding Player award for the NCAA tournament, was the first-overall selection in the WNBA draft and was the women’s college player of the year. Right-handed pitcher Jake Arrieta of the Chicago Cubs won the best breakthrough performance award. The 30-year-old National League Cy Young winner led MLB with 22 wins while his ERA of 1.77 ranked second and he threw a pair of no-hitters.

The ESPY the year’s best play went to quarterback Aaron Rodgers of the NFL’s Green Bay Packers and tight end Richard Rodgers. The pair combined on a Hail Mary for a 61-yard winning touchdown against the Detroit Lions last season. Meanwhile, Sgt. Elizabeth Marks of the U.S. Army won the Pat Tillman Award for Service. She became a top-class paraswimmer after battling a lung disease and injury while serving in Iraq.

This is the complete list of 2016 ESPY Winners

Male Athlete of year: LeBron James of the Cleveland Cavaliers
Female Athlete of year: Breanna Stewart of UConn
Record-Breaking Performance of year: Stephen Curry of the Golden State Warriors
Breakthrough Athlete of year: Jake Arrieta of the Chicago Cubs
Play of the year: Aaron Rodgers’ and Richard Rodgers of the Green Bay Packers
Moment of the year: Cleveland wins its first major sports championship in 52 years
Upset of the year: Holly Holm beats Ronda Rousey in women’s UFC
Comeback Athlete of the year: Eric Berry of the Kansas City Chiefs
Team of the year: The Cleveland Cavaliers
Championship Performance of the year: LeBron James
Game of the year: Game seven of the NBA Finals
Coach of the year: Tyronn Lue of the Cleveland Cavaliers
NBA Player of the year: LeBron James
MLB Player of the year: Bryce Harper of the Washington Nationals
NFL Player of the year: Cam Newton of the Carolina Panthers
NHL Player of the year: Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins
Male College Athlete of the year: Buddy Hield of Oklahoma
Female College Athlete of the year: Breanna Stewart of UConn
Male Tennis Player of the year: Novak Djokovic
Female Tennis Player of the year: Serena Williams
Male Action Sports Athlete of the year: Ryan Dungey
Female Action Sports Athlete of the year: Jamie Anderson
Male Athlete with a Disability of the year: Richard Browne
Female Athlete with a Disability of the year: Tatyana McFadden
International Athlete of the year: Soccer player Cristiano Ronaldo of Real Madrid and Portugal
MLS player of the year: Sebastian Giovinco of Toronto FC
WNBA Player of the year: Maya Moore of the Minnesota Lynx
Driver of the year: Kyle Busch
Male Golfer of the year: Jordan Spieth
Female Golfer of the year: Lydia Ko
Jockey of the year: Mario Gutierrez
Bowler of the year: Jason Belmonte
Fighter of the year: Conor McGregor UFC
Arthur Ashe Award for Courage: The late Zaevion Dobson
Jimmy V Award for Perseverance: Broadcaster Craig Sager
Pat Tillman Award for Service: Sgt. Elizabeth Marks
Icon Award of 2016: Kobe Bryant NBA, Peyton Manning NFL and Abby Wambach of USA Women’s Soccer

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Best US Sportsbook
Exclusive Betting Bonus


Sports Betting 101
Latest Sports News