Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942
World Cup Final 2010 Fast Facts – SportsUntapped.com
Today is
Added July 10th, 2010 by Steve

World Cup Final 2010 Fast Facts
Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942

Only one day to go for the big game in South Africa, the World Cup Final between Holland and the European Champions Spain. Surely a tough game to predict and should be entertaining to watch as it’s clearly two of the best teams in the tournament. Spain are favorites with the bookmakers and Sportsbook.com are paying -111 (1.90, 9/10) for a Spanish win.

• The 2010 World Cup Final in South Africa is the first one ever that hasn’t featured either Germany, Argentina, Italy, or Brazil in it. Brazil has won the Cup five times, Italy four times, Germany three, and Argentina twice.

• It’s the seventh time the World Cup Final has featured two European teams. This means a European country will win the tournament for a record 10th time.

• Holland has won all of its matches in the tournament so far and if they win the Final, the team will become the fifth one to win all of its games. The others were Uruguay (1930), Italy (1938), and Brazil pulled it off twice, in 1970 and 2002. If Spain wins the World Cup, New Zealand will end up being the only unbeaten team in the 2010 tournament as they had three draws.

• Holland also won all of its World Cup qualifying games and if they win the Cup will become only the second country to win all of its qualifying and World Cup matches. Brazil achieved the amazing feat back in 1970.

• Going into the Final against Spain, Holland is on a 25-game unbeaten streak. They have let in more than one goal just once in their last 14 World Cup tournament matches. This was a 2-1 loss to Croatia the third-place game in 1998.

• Spain is the first reigning European champions to play in a World Cup Final since West Germany did it in 1982. Spain won the European Championship with a 1-0 win over Germany in 2008. They now become the 12th different country to play in a World Cup Final.

• If Spain wins the Cup, but scores less than four goals, they will become the lowest-scoring team ever to win the trophy as they only have seven goals. Three teams have won the World Cup with only 11 goals. These were Italy in 1938, England in 1966, and Brazil in 1994.

• Spanish midfielder Xavi has created 25 goal scoring opportunities so far in this year’s event. The next player comes in with 17 chances created. He has also completed 509 of the 560 passes he’s attempted. Brazil’s Dunga is the only player to have completed more passes in a World Cup tournament since statistics started to be kept in 1966. He achieved his feat in 1994.

Bookmark and Share

One Response to “World Cup Final 2010 Fast Facts”

  1. sofort kredit says:

    I think Spain really earned this World Cup Title. They were just the best team all over the competition except against Switzerland, when they were not awake.

Leave a Reply

Best US Sportsbook
Exclusive Betting Bonus


Sports Betting 101
Latest Sports News