Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942
Westwood Wins Again in Asia; Bubba Watson Wins Playoff – SportsUntapped.com
Today is
Added May 2nd, 2011 by Chalk

Westwood Wins Again in Asia; Bubba Watson Wins Playoff
Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942

Lee Westwood won a tournament in Asia for the second straight week, coming from three shots back to start the final round to win the Ballantine’s Championship in Korea by a stroke over Ryder Cup teammate Miguel Angel Jimenez. Stateside, Bubba Watson beat Webb Simpson on the second playoff hole to win at the Zurich Classic in Louisiana.

Westwood, who reclaimed the World No. 1 ranking after winning in Indonesia the previous week, became the first reigning World No. 1 to win a golf tournament in over a year. The last No. 1 to win a tournament was Tiger Woods at the Australian Masters in late 2009.

Alcohol may have played a slight role in Westwood’s win, as he wined and dined Jimenez on Saturday night. “We had a nice bottle of red and after dinner I said ‘I’ll see you in the playoff tomorrow’ and it nearly went that way,” said Westwood.

The world No. 1 also had nice-ish things to say about his Korean hosts. “The fans were very good, very supportive and it just shows the keenness of the Korean public to come out and watch people they have seen on TV,” the world No. 1 said.

Bubba’s win was his second of the year. It moved him into the top 10 in the world rankings and to first place in the PGA Tour’s FedExCup standings.

Not picking Bubba to win his head-to-head matchup with K.J. Choi, who finished tied for third, was one of the few blemishes on our weekly picks. We came out ahead in both tournaments, going 3-1 in Korea and 3-2 in Louisiana for a 6-3 week overall. That brings our 2011 record up to 70-53-9.

Our winners:

  • Dustin Johnson, USA (4) Over Ian Poulter, England (Missed Cut)
  • Thongchai Jaidee, Thailand (T41) Over Y.E. Yang, Korea (MC)
  • Ernie Els, South Africa (MC – 146) Over Rafael Cabrera-Bello, Spain (MC – 148)
  • Luke Donald, England (T8) Over Nick Watney, USA (T20)
  • Steve Stricker, USA (T13) Over Nick Watney, USA (T20) -130
  • Ben Crane, USA (T20) Over Graeme McDowell, Northern Ireland (MC)

Our other two misses:

  • Soren Kjeldsen, Denmark (T13)  Over Miguel Angel Jimenez, Spain (2)
  • Brandt Snedeker, USA (MC) Over Rickie Fowler, USA (T26)

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Best US Sportsbook
Exclusive Betting Bonus


Sports Betting 101
Latest Sports News