Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942
USA wins third Women’s World Cup – SportsUntapped.com
Today is
Added July 7th, 2015 by Ian

USA wins third Women’s World Cup
Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942

The Americans ended their 16-year Women’s World Cup drought in style on July 5th when they downed Japan 5-2 at the B.C. Place Stadium in Vancouver British, Columbia. The game was a rematch of the 2011 Final which Japan won in a penalty-kick shootout after playing to a 2-2 draw following 120-minutes of play. There were over 53,000 fans on hand in one of Canada’s biggest stadiums for Sunday’s match and they were treated to a women’s record seven goals in a Cup Final. The Americans got off to one of their best ever starts as they scored in the third, fifth, 14th and 16th minutes to jump into an insurmountable 4-0 lead.

Midfielder Carli Lloyd also placed her name in the record books by scoring a hat-trick in those first 16 minutes for the first-ever three-goal game in a Final. Lloyd scored in the third, fifth and 16th minutes with her third goal coming from the halfway line when she spotted the Japanese keeper Ayumi Kaihori off her line. Lauren Holiday scored the goal in the 14th minute. Lloyd finished the tournament with a bang by scoring six times in the USA’s last four encounters. The 32-year-old Lloyd also took home the Golden Ball Trophy as the best player in the tournament as well as the Silver Boot for her six goals. American Hope Solo won the Golden Glove for being the best goalkeeper. Celia Sasic of Germany won the Golden Boot as she also scored six goals buy played fewer minutes than Lloyd.

Japan fought back though and made it 4-1 a few minutes before the halftime whistle. It then looked like it was going to be a dramatic ending when the reigning champions narrowed the score to 4-2 courtesy of an own goal by America’s Julie Johnston in the 52nd minute. However, the USA sealed the deal just three minutes later when Tobin Heath restored the USA’s three-goal lead. It was the nation’s first World Cup triumph since 1999 and their third overall as they also won it in 1991. The USA also beat Japan for the Olympic gold medal in London in 2012 when Lloyd scored both goals in her side’s 2-1 triumph.

Japan entered the game with just three goals against in their seven tournament games while the U.S. had allowed just one against. Japan was aiming to go seven for seven in the tournament as they had won all six previous games by just one goal. Meanwhile, the U.S. was looking to record their fifth clean sheet in a row in the event. The win was also special for America’s 35-year-old Abby Wambach as she’s the leading scorer in women’s international history with 183 goals but she hadn’t won a World Cup until now.

There were 24 teams at the 2015 Women’s World Cup as it expanded from 16 nations in previous years. The American women blew 1-0 and 2-1 leads against Japan in the Final four years ago, and were determined not to do it again this year.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Best US Sportsbook
Exclusive Betting Bonus


Sports Betting 101
Latest Sports News