Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942
Steinbrenner on Hall of Fame Ballot for Veterans Committee – SportsUntapped.com
Today is
Added November 9th, 2010 by Chalk

Steinbrenner on Hall of Fame Ballot for Veterans Committee
Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942

George Steinbrenner is on the Hall of Fame ballot of the Veterans Committee, along with 11 others who actually made a positive contribution to the game of baseball. Steinbrenner owned the Yankees for decades before dying earlier this summer, and has already been memorialized by a ridiculously oversized plaque in the team’s outfield cemetery.

The ballot was created by 11 veteran members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America, who were instructed to select “Expansion Era” candidates whose most significant career impact after 1973. The 16-member committee will vote on the candidates, and whoever gets 12 votes will be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Results will be announced on December 6.

The other 11 candidates who unfortunately have to share the ballot with the despicable likes of Steinbrenner are: former players Vida Blue, Dave Concepcion, Steve Garvey, Ron Guidry, Tommy John, Al Oliver, Ted Simmons and Rusty Staub; former manager Billy Martin; and executives Pat Gillick and Marvin Miller.

The 16 Veterans Committee members doing the voting are: Hall of Famers Johnny Bench, Whitey Herzog, Eddie Murray, Jim Palmer, Tony Perez, Frank Robinson, Ryne Sandberg and Ozzie Smith; executives Bill Giles (Phillies), David Glass (Royals), Andy MacPhail (Orioles) and Jerry Reinsdorf (White Sox); and veteran media members Bob Elliott (Toronto Sun), Tim Kurkjian (ESPN), Ross Newhan (retired, Los Angeles Times) and Tom Verducci (Sports Illustrated). Hopefully all 16 will have the courage not to vote for the fiendish Steinbrenner, but only five will be needed to protect Cooperstown’s integrity.

The 11 writers who came up with the ballot and made the egregious error of including Steinbrenner were:

  • Dave Van Dyck (Chicago Tribune)
  • Bob Elliott (Toronto Sun)
  • Rick Hummel (St. Louis Post-Dispatch)
  • Steve Hirdt (Elias Sports Bureau)
  • Bill Madden (New York Daily News)
  • Ken Nigro (formerly Baltimore Sun)
  • Jack O’Connell (BBWAA secretary/treasurer)
  • Glenn Schwarz (formerly, San Francisco Chronicle)
  • Claire Smith (ESPN)
  • Tracy Ringolsby (FSN Rocky Mountain)
  • Mark Whicker (Orange County Register)

They should all be fired, especially the obviously biased Bill Madden.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Best US Sportsbook
Exclusive Betting Bonus


Sports Betting 101
Latest Sports News