Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942
Stanley Cup champions Los Angeles Kings miss playoffs – SportsUntapped.com
Today is
Added April 13th, 2015 by Ian

Stanley Cup champions Los Angeles Kings miss playoffs
Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942

The NHL’s 2014/15 regular season came to an end on April 11 with last season’s Stanley Cup winners the Los Angeles Kings missing the playoffs by two points. The Kings, who won the cup twice in the last three seasons, lost two of their last three games to fall short in the Western Conference. The Ottawa Senators clinched a playoff spot on the final day of the season with a 3-1 win over the Flyers in Philadelphia. The Senators, led by rookies goalie Andrew Hammond, went an incredible 23-4-4 over their final 31 games to make the postseason.

In the NHL trophy department, the New York Rangers took the President’s Trophy as the league best regular-season team. The Rangers finished the season with a 53-22-7 record for 113 points. The Montreal Canadiens were next with 110. The leading scorer was Jamie Benn of the Dallas Stars and he takes home the Art Ross Trophy for his 87 points, which were accumulated on 35 goals and 52 assists. John Tavares of the New York Islanders finished in second place with goals and assists for points Benn wrapped up the trophy with three goals and an assists in his last game of the season, which was a 4-1 win over the Nashville Predators on April 11.

Benn, the Stars’ captain, scored his third goal of the game into an empty net with just over two minutes remaining and that gave him 86 points and tied him with Tavares. However, Tavares would have been awarded the trophy since he scored 38 goals to Benn’s 35. Left-winger Benn broke the deadlock with just under 10 seconds to go in the season when he setup Trevor Daley for the game’s last goal. Tavares managed to score a pair of points in the Islanders’ 5-4 loss in a shootout to the Columbus Blue Jackets.

Winger Alexander Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals won the Rocket Richard trophy for the most goals during the regular season with 53. It was the sixth time in the Russian’s career that he has scored at least 50 goals and he was the only player in the league to hit 50 this season. it was Ovechkin’s third straight Richard award and the fifth of his career. Goaltenders Carey Price of the Montreal Canadiens and Corey Crawford of the Chicago Blackhawks shared the William M. Jennings Trophy as the goalies who allowed the least goals against after a minimum of 25 games. Bothe the Canadiens and Blackhawks allowed 189 goals against in their 82-game seasons.

It was the second Jennings award in three years for Crawford as he finished the campaign with a record of 32-20-5 along with a 2.27 goals-against average, two shutouts and a 92.4 save percentage in 57 games. For Price it was his first Jennings Trophy and he set a club record with 44 wins. His final mark was 44-16-6. Price led the league in wins, goals-against average at 1.96 and a 93.3 save percentage. He was also second in shutouts with nine.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Best US Sportsbook
Exclusive Betting Bonus


Sports Betting 101
Latest Sports News