Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942
Posey, Feliz Win Rookies of the Year – SportsUntapped.com
Today is
Added November 16th, 2010 by Chalk

Posey, Feliz Win Rookies of the Year
Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942

Monday, the Rookies of the Year in each league were announced and had a decidedly World Series flair. San Francisco Giants catcher Buster Posey got 20 of 32 first place votes to win the National League award, despite only making his big league debut in late May. Texas Rangers closer Neftali Feliz won the American League award with 20 of 28 first place votes.

Posey beat out Atlanta Braves outfielder Jason Heyward, who received nine first-place votes. One wacky writer out to make a name for himself left Posey off his ballot. Posey hit .305 with 18 home runs, including eight in the season’s final month, and drove in 67 runs. Posey becomes the sixth Giant to win the Rookie of the Year, and the first since 1975. The first three Giants to win the award are now in the Hall of Fame: Willie Mays, Orlando Cepeda and Willie McCovey.

Feliz was 4-3 with a 2.73 ERA in 70 games for the Rangers. His 40 saves set a rookie record. Tigers outfielder Austin Jackson finished second with eight first place votes. Devil Rays starter Wade Davis got 11 third-place votes, while Devil Rays catcher John Jaso got one second-place vote. The only other Ranger to win Rookie of the Year was Mike Hargrove in 1974.

The last catcher to win NL Rookie of the Year was the Cubs Geovanny Soto in 2008. Soto put up terrible numbers in 2009, but bounced back with a decent 2010. Three of the past six AL Rookies of the Year have been closers, with two Oakland A’s winning, Huston Street in 2005 and Andrew Bailey in 2009.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Best US Sportsbook
Exclusive Betting Bonus


Sports Betting 101
Latest Sports News