Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942
NHL hands out 2015/16 awards – SportsUntapped.com
Today is
Added June 28th, 2016 by Ian

NHL hands out 2015/16 awards
Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942

The NHL handed out its annual individual awards in a ceremony in Las Vegas on June 22nd. The trophies were given out to those considered the best of the just-finished 2015/16 season. Forward Patrick Kane of the Chicago Blackhawks was the big winner as he took home three pieces of silverware on the night. Kane became the first American-born player to win the Hart Memorial Trophy, which is given to the league’s most-valuable player for the regular season. He also won the Art Ross Trophy for leading the league in scoring this season and took home the Ted Lindsay Award for being the best player in the league as voted on by his fellow players.

Kane won the scoring race this year with 106 points with 40 of them coming during a 26-game stretch. He’s also the first American to win that trophy. Kane was named in first place on 121 of the 150 ballots for the Hart Trophy and totaled 1,395 voting points. Center Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins was runner up with 11 first-place votes and 800 points while Dallas Stars’ forward came in third place. Benn was also one of the three finalists for the Ted Lindsay Award along with Washington Capitals’ netminder Braden Holtby.

Chicago left-winger Artemi Panarin won the Calder Trophy as the league’s best rookie after racking up 77 points this season in 80 games. Panarin played with Kane on his right wing and Artem Anisimov at centre. He garnered 88 first-place ballots and 1,258. Defenceman Shayne Gostisbehere of the Philadelphia Flyers centre Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers were the two other finalists. Meanwhile, Holtby managed to win the Vezina Trophy as the best goaltender in the league during the regular season. He managed to beat out Tampa Bay’s Ben Bishop and Los Angeles Kings’ goalie Jonathan Quick.

The NHL’s 30 general managers voted on the Vezina Trophy and 26 of them named Holtby as the top goaltender. Holtby tied a league record for wins in a season in 2015/16 as he won 48 games to tie former New Jersey Devil goalie Martin Brodeur. Holtby may have set a new record, but the Capitals decided to rest him in their final game of the regular season. Holtby also posted a save percentage of 92.2 along with a goals-against average of 2.20 per game. Washington head coach Barry Trotz was the recipient of the Jack Adams Award for being named coach of the year. This was the third time he’s been nominated for the honour.

Trotz led the Capitals to the Presidents’ Trophy as the NHL’s top regular-season team. They finished the campaign with 120 points and set franchise records for road victories with 29 and for wins with 49. As far as defensive players go, Drew Doughty of the Los Angeles Kings was awarded the James Norris Trophy as the league’s best defenceman. His Los Angeles teammate Anze Kopitar won the Lady Byng Trophy as the league’s most gentlemanly player. The centre also won the Selke Trophy for being the league’s top defensive forward.

Doughty was named first on 93 of the 150 ballots for 1,254 points. He scored 51 points this season and averaged 28 minutes and one second of ice time per game. He also helped Los Angeles to the third-best goals-against average at 2.34 per game and finished the campaign with a plus-24 rating. Kopitar, who was recently named the Kings’ new captain, came second in Selke voting in 2014 and third last year. He’s also the first Los Angeles player to receive the Lady Byng Trophy. He scored 74 points this season, was a plus-34 and served just 16 minutes in penalties even though he led all of the league’s forwards in ice time.

Jim Rutherford of the Pittsburgh Penguins was named the general manager of the year. He was named first on 10 out of the 40 ballots. The voting for GM of the year was held during the playoffs and the Penguins ended up winning the Stanley Cup. Forty-four-year-old right winger Jaromir Jagr of the Florida Panthers won the Bill Masterton Trophy which is given to the layer who shows sportsmanship, perseverance and dedication to the game. Jagr led his team in scoring this season 66 points while Florida set franchise records with 103 points and 47 wins.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Best US Sportsbook
Exclusive Betting Bonus


Sports Betting 101
Latest Sports News