Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942
GWAA: Luke Donald < Yani Tseng - SportsUntapped.com
Today is
Added December 30th, 2011 by Chalk

GWAA: Luke Donald < Yani Tseng
Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942

Luke Donald racked up yet another award for his pretty good 2011 as he was named the Golf Writers Association of America’s Male Player of the Year.  But when he picks up his award on the eve of next year’s Masters, he’ll be in the presence of a golfer who had an even better 2011: the GWAA’s Female Player of the Year, Yani Tseng.

Donald was awfully consistent in 2011.  He won four times worldwide and won both money lists (becoming the first golfer to officially do that even though Tiger Woods unofficially did it lots of times without actually being a member of the European Tour). In 19 PGA Tour events in 2011, Donald had 12 top-10 finishes. For his efforts he got 88% of the vote from the GWAA.

But the writers were even closer to being unanimous on Tseng’s 2011 with 94% voting for her. All she did was win 12 times worldwide, including two majors (Donald will still be seeking his first career major championship at next year’s Masters).

Tom Lehman won the GWAA’s Senior Player of the Year award with a mere 86% of the vote. This year, Je had three senior wins, including a senior major.

Donald’s closest competition in the GWAA voting was Keegan Bradley, who got 9% of the vote (and won a major). Also receiving votes were Webb Simpson (no major) and Rory McIlroy (major!).

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Best US Sportsbook
Exclusive Betting Bonus


Sports Betting 101
Latest Sports News