Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942
Dustin Johnson Wins BMW, Tiger Eliminated From Playoffs – SportsUntapped.com
Today is
Added September 13th, 2010 by Chalk

Dustin Johnson Wins BMW, Tiger Eliminated From Playoffs
Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942

After disappointing final days at two majors this year, Dustin Johnson closed well to win the BMW Championship and vault into second place in the FedExCup playoff standings going into the final 30-player playoff tournament, The Tour Championship.  Defending FedExCup champ Tiger Woods won’t be eligible to play The Tour Championship after finishing T15 at the BMW and only 41st in the playoff standings.

Johnson finished -9 for a one-shot victory over England’s Paul Casey.  Casey was notably left off the European Ryder Cup Team but is now ranked 7th in the world; Johnson moved up to 12th in the world rankings after the win.  Casey and Johnson join Matt Kuchar, Charley Hoffman and Steve Stricker as the only five players who can win the $10 million FedExCup by winning The Tour Championship; the other 25 golfers in the field will have to win and hope they have enough points in the standings to win the FedExCup.

Because world #4 Steve Stricker and #2 Phil Mickelson finished tied for 8th at the BMW, Tiger Woods still retained his number one world golf ranking, but will not be eligible for a tournament for the first time in his career. Tiger shot under par his last two rounds to get to -1 for the tournament, but couldn’t make up for shooting 73 and 72 the first two days.

Still Tiger feels like there are some bright points in his game:

I didn’t play well in the beginning of the year and I didn’t play well in the middle of the year. Now I’m starting to play well. I’m headed in the right direction.

Also eliminated from the playoffs were two of Tiger’s fellow US Ryder Cup team captain’s picks: Rickie Fowler (T45 at the BMW, 32nd in the FedExCup standings) and Stewart Cink (T21, 38). Two members of the European Team were also eliminated — Rory McIlroy (T37, 36) and Ian Poulter.

Here’s the rest of the 30-man Tour Championship field:

  • 6 Jason Day
  • 7 Luke Donald
  • 8 Ernie Els
  • 9 Martin Laird
  • 10 Phil Mickelson
  • 11 Jim Furyk
  • 12 Geoff Ogilvy
  • 13 Justin Rose
  • 14 Adam Scott
  • 15 Hunter Mahan
  • 16 Ryan Palmer
  • 17 Retief Goosen
  • 18 Bubba Watson
  • 19 Zach Johnson
  • 20 Kevin Na
  • 21 Tim Clark
  • 22 Ben Crane
  • 23 K.J. Choi
  • 24 Jeff Overton
  • 25 Camilo Villegas
  • 26 Ryan Moore
  • 27 Robert Allenby
  • 28 Nick Watney
  • 29 Kevin Streelman
  • 30 Bo Van Pelt

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Best US Sportsbook
Exclusive Betting Bonus


Sports Betting 101
Latest Sports News