Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942
American golfer Dustin Johnson captures U.S. Open – SportsUntapped.com
Today is
Added June 21st, 2016 by Ian

American golfer Dustin Johnson captures U.S. Open
Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942

American golfer Dustin Johnson won the U.S. Open at Oakmont on June 19th for his first ever major win after finishing as last year’s runner up. However, he had to go through the last seven holes wondering if he’d be penalized a stroke for a possible infringement on the fifth hole. Johnson finished the fourth and final round by shooting 68 to finish the tournament at five under par, but was penalized for moving his ball back on the fifth green. Therefore, his official score ended up being four under par for the event, but it was still enough to win it as he finished three in front of Shane Lowry of Ireland and fellow Americans Scott Piercy and Jim Furyk.

Lowry began the last round with a four-stroke lead, but that disappeared during the front nine on Sunday. Still, the final round ended in confusion because the golfers weren’t sure if Johnson would be penalized a stroke or not. Lee Westwood of England was still in the running as well going into the final round at two-under, but he shot 10-over and finished the tournament at eight-over. Johnson was penalized after his ball slightly moved before addressing it before a putt. A rules official claimed there was no infringement and Lee Westwood, who was playing alongside him, said Johnson didn’t do anything wrong. Johnson then finished the hole on par.

Johnson was then notified on the 12th hole that he could be penalized after the incident was reviewed on video replay. However, the review wouldn’t take place until he had finished his round. The officials decided to penalize the American and his score was changed from two-under 68 to one-under 69. With the U.S. Open win, Johnson is now the number three ranked men’s golfer in the world. Johnson told the press that the possible penalty stroke didn’t bother him by saying, “At that point, I just thought I’d deal with it when I’m done. I tried to block it out and not let it bother me. Who cares, it doesn’t matter anymore.”

While several other golfers such as Rory McIlroy and Jordan Spieth didn’t feel Johnson should have been penalized a stroke they believed the situation should have been rectified immediately rather than after the round. Lowry became the first golfer since 1998 to blow a four-stroke lead in the final round with the last to do it being Payne Stewart. Lowry also said his poor finish had nothing to do with Johnson’s penalty situation. He was two strokes back of Johnson by the time he found out about it after bogeying four holes. Westwood began the final round five shots back and then had a stretch of five bogeys along with a double bogey. He’s now gone winless in 73 majors.

American Andrew Landry, who’s ranked 624th in the world, led the tournament after the first round and finished the final round eight-over par to end the event at five-over. Sergio Garcia of Spain was three under par at the 13th hole, but then hit three straight bogeys to fall out of the running. Garcia is still looking for a victory at one of the sport’s big four tournaments. Furyk finished the day with the best round at a four-under 66 and this enabled the 46-year-old former winner to tie Piercy and Lowry for second place.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Best US Sportsbook
Exclusive Betting Bonus


Sports Betting 101
Latest Sports News