Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942
2016 Boxing Hall of Fame Inductees Announced – SportsUntapped.com
Today is
Added December 22nd, 2015 by Ian

2016 Boxing Hall of Fame Inductees Announced
Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942

The International Boxing Hall of Fame (IBHOF) has announced its inductees for June of 2016 in Canastota, New York. Leading the way is former Puerto Rican star Hector ‘Macho’ Camacho, who was murdered in his homeland in 2012 at the age of 50. The IBHOF names new inductees in its five categories each December. The Modern category is for boxers whose last bout took place no earlier than the year 1989 while the Old-Timer category is for boxers whose last fight took place anywhere between 1893 and 1988.

There are two different Old Timer categories as one is for the Early Era which means their last bout was between 1893 and 1942. Meanwhile, the Late Era is for boxers who last fought between 1943 and 1988. The Pioneer Category is for boxers who had their last bout up until 1892. The IBHOF also has a Non- Participant category for people who have contributed to the sport, but didn’t compete in it. The fifth category is called Observer and it’s for people such as writers, artists, photographers, announcers historians etc.

The voting is done by boxing association writers from numerous countries around the world. The nominees are announced each December with the induction ceremonies being held every June. Next year’s induction will take place from June 9 to 12, 2016. Other inductees include former boxers Lupe Pintor and Hilario Zapata as well as judge and TV announcer Harold Lederman, Nevada State Athletic Commissioner Marc Ratner, journalist Jerry Izenberg and television broadcaster Colonel Bob Sheridan. Camacho won world championships in three different weight divisions and retired with a record of 79-6-3 with 38 Kos. His career spanned three decades and he beat many top boxers of his era such as Roberto Duran and Sugar Ray Leonard.

Zapata of Panama last fought in 1993 and the 57-year-old retired with a record of 43-10-1 with 15 Kos. He won his first world championship in 1980 when he beat Shigeo Nakajima of Japan for the WBC Light Flyweight Title. Pintor of Mexico is a former WBC Bantamweight Champion who won 56 career fights and 42 of them by knockout. The power puncher held his title from 1979 to 1982 and managed to win 21 fights in a row from March of 1976 to March of 1978 with 18 of the victories coming by knockout.

Lederman was a well-known judge for more than 30 years and now works as commentator for HBO Sports. Izenberg writes columns for the Newark Star-Ledger and Ratner has been with the Nevada State Athletic Commission for the past 14 years. Sheridan has broadcast more than 10,000 bouts from all over the world during his career which began in 1973. Camacho is the most popular name on the list though. He was born in 1962 in Bayamon, Puerto Rico and moved to New York City three years later with his mother.
Camacho learned to box at the age of 11 as a way to protect himself on the rough streets of the city’s Spanish Harlem district. He went 96-4 as an amateur and won a trio of New York Golden Gloves Championships before turning professional in 1980. He won the WBC Super Featherweight crown in 1983 by knocking out Rafael Limon. He beat Jose Luis Ramirez two years later for the WBC Lightweight Championship and won the WBO Junior Welterweight Title in 1989 with a decision over Ray ‘Boom Boon’ Mancini.

Pintor turned pro in 1974 and beat Carlos Zarate by split decision for the WBC Bantamweight Title back in 1979. He defended it eight times before giving it up to move up in weight. He beat Juan Meza in 1985 for the WBC Super Bantamweight Championship and retired with 56-14-2 along with 42 Kos in 1995. Zapata turned pro in 1977 and win the WBC Light Flyweight Title a year later by decisioning defending champ Nakajima on points. Zapata then captured the vacant WBA Flyweight Title in 1985 by beating Alonzo Gonzalez. He defended it five times before retiring.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Best US Sportsbook
Exclusive Betting Bonus


Sports Betting 101
Latest Sports News