Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942
2015 Baseball Hall of Fame Inductees announced – SportsUntapped.com
Today is
Added January 11th, 2015 by Ian

2015 Baseball Hall of Fame Inductees announced
Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/sportsun/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942

Craig Biggio, Randy Johnson, John Smoltz and Pedro Martinez have all been voted into baseball’s hall of fame by the Baseball Writers Association of America and will be formally inducted during a gala ceremony in Cooperstown this July. This is just the third time in baseball history that four players will be heading into the hall in the same year. The last time it happened was back in 1955 and the first time it took place was in 1947. The most players voted into the hall of fame was five, which happened in 1936 when it originally opened. Each player needs to receive a minimum of 75 per cent of the available 549 votes to be inducted.

Pitchers Martinez, Johnson and Smoltz were all named on the ballot for the very first time. Martinez earned on 91.1 per cent of the ballots while Johnson garnered 97.3 per cent of the writers’ votes. Smoltz also made it quite easily with 82.9 per cent while Biggio received 82.7 per cent of the votes. It was third time lucky for Biggio since he failed to earn enough votes the previous two times he was listed on the ballot. He needed just two more votes last year to gain induction and easily made that up this time around. Biggio spent his 20-year career in MLB as a catcher, second baseman, and outfielder.

Some other players came close, but failed to receive enough votes. Mike Piazza earned 69.9 per cent while Jeff Bagwell received 55.7, Tim Raines had 55 per cent and Curt Schilling racked up 39.2 per cent. Some other big names failed to earn enough votes and this could be because of their alleged performance-enhancing drug use during their careers. Barry Bonds received 36.8 per cent of votes while Roger Clemens came in at 37.5, Mark McGwire had 10 per cent and Sammy Sosa earned just 6.6 per cent. Both Clemens and Bonds received more votes this year than they did in 2014 though.

Don Mattingly was on the ballot for his last year of eligibility and he received just 9.1 per cent of the required votes. His only chance of earning induction into the hall will now be if the Veteran’s Committee votes him in. However, that’s an unlikely scenario. When July rolls around Biggio will enter the hall as the first-ever member of the Houston Astros to be inducted. In addition, if Johnson wears a Seattle Mariners or Arizona Diamondbacks cap he’ll be the first member of either of those teams to reach the hall.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Best US Sportsbook
Exclusive Betting Bonus


Sports Betting 101
Latest Sports News